HISTORIC VILLAGE OF TUBAC
Snapshots of Tubac life.
CLICK ON PHOTOS TO NAVIGATE GALLERY
Centuries ago, the native O'odam people lived here beside the lush Santa Cruz River. Their village was known as Cuwak until Spanish missionaries settled here in 1752, calling it 'Tubaca'.
Among the historic figures who came to Tubac were Padre Eusebio Francisco Kino, on a mission of peace, and Spanish explorer Juan Bautista de Anza (who would later blaze the Anza Trail to present-day San Francisco). The O'odam and Spanish built Tumacacori Mission and later Tubac Presidio (fort) to defend Tubac from fierce gangs of Apaches.
Don Toribio Otero, a Spaniard, was given land to the North where he built a ranch and supplied goods and food to the presidio. His family lived there for generations before Otero Ranch was converted to Tubac Golf Resort. Today, the Otero House, stable building, and other structures are preserved in time with their Spanish Colonial heritage (above).
Over two hundred years later, the quiet Village of Tubac is home to artists, traders, craftsmen, golfers, farmers, ranchers, and others with a passion for the rustic charm of the Southwest. Come visit and experience the land, people, culture, cuisine, and lifestyle that makes Tubac truly unique!
FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT THE VILLAGE OF TUBAC, PLEASE VISIT THE TUBAC CHAMBER OF COMMERCE WEB SITE AT https://www.tubacaz.com